Bumgarner Throws a special kind of No-hitter.
As part of a doubleheader that was limited to seven innings, the Diamondback lefty was credited with a shutout. However, he wasn’t credited with a no-hitter.
Madison Bumgarner was set to take the mound in Atlanta on Sunday for a seven-inning game. Bumgarner gave the Diamondbacks a gem of a performance in order to help the Diamondbacks beat the Braves 7–0. Bumgarner would go on and get the victory, a shutout, and a complete game.
As well as a unique kind of no-hitter.
In an effort to speed the games up amidst the coronavirus pandemic, MLB declared that last season doubleheaders would only last seven innings instead of nine. Sunday was the first time since the rule was implemented we have seen a no-hitter in a doubleheader- except officially. It won’t count as one.
The league released a statement on Sunday citing that it would abide by the definition provided by the Elias Sports Bureau, which states: “No-hitters by teams and individuals shall not be credited in scheduled seven-inning games, unless that game goes to extra innings and the team (or individual in a complete game) pitches at least nine innings and does not allow a hit.”
I think the League should consider changing the Elias Sports Bureau’s definition of what is a perfect game. Since the league changed their rule on doubleheaders, I don’t understand why getting 21 outs or 27 outs when that is the length of the game can hinder giving someone credit for what they accomplished.
I’m afraid I have to disagree with how it is defined in a seven-inning game. I think if it ends in seven just like this game did, its still a no-hitter, and if it did go extras, it should still be officially acknowledged as a no-hitter. It baffels me that the league is wants to change the rules on the game to speed it up, but also won’t change it’s ruling on what is considered to be a no-hitter and what isn’t.
When asked about the game, Diamondbacks catcher Carson Kelly said, “It was a seven-inning game, and we gave up no hits in seven innings. That’s how I’m going to look at it. Whether the league says ‘Unofficial,’ whatever it is, I believe it’s a no-hitter. We were told we were playing seven, and he took care of business.”
Bumgarner, who starred in three World Series for the San Francisco Giants throughout the 2010s, it was by far the best start of his two years with the Diamondbacks.
“He basically was perfect for seven complete innings,” Arizona manager Torey Louvullo said, “So it’s not a no-hitter for me, and it will be forever. I don’t know what the rule book’s going to say and I don’t know if Major League Baseball’s going to recognize it. But for what’s going on in that room right now, for the special feeling that Madison gave us today — it was a no-hitter.”
Bumgarner has thrown four one-hitters that were no-hit through seven innings. He said after the game that he probably could have completed it this time.
“I mean, I would have tried,” he said, “If it works for seven, it’s hard to imagine it not working for two more.”
Unlike the rest of the team, Bumgarner wasn’t as adamant about his performance. However, he didn’t dismiss the significance of it. “I didn’t give up any hits today. I’m not in control of how many innings we’re playing. I like the seven-inning doubleheader thing. I don’t know.”
While I was watching this game and witnessing the dominance that Bumgarner was showing against the Braves lineup, even though it was only seven innings, the league shouldn’t dismiss Bumgarner's performance. It’s a rare feat to go seven, let alone nine innings. So,
But why not acknowledge what was accomplished? Why should the player who was near perfect suffer cause of league-wide rule change? It doesn’t make sense to me. To me and most likely any and all baseball fans, Bumgarner did throw a no-hitter.
This was probably one of his last chances to be able to achieve this amazing feat in pitching. It’s truly sad that when you think about Madison Bumgarner and think of all he’s accomplished it’s truly sad to know that he is unable to achieve this feat.
Bumgarner may be “past his prime” in recent years, but considering he went a complete game with out giving up a hit, blows my mind that the league is refusing to give him the accolade he deserves. I hope at some point he is capable of throwing another one because he is one of the best pitchers in the past decade and deserves this.